Travel Tourism


Norton County was organized in 1872 and the county seat is the city of Norton.  Norton County was named in memory of Orloff Norton, Captain of Company L, Fifteenth Kansas Cavalry, killed by guerillas at Cane Hill, Arkansas on October 29, 1865.  In 1873 the county was represented by one N. H. Billings, who, in consequence of his peculiarities, became a sort of butt of the Legislature.  He was a member of the Senate at the time and had the name of Norton changed to Billings in two lines hidden in a paragraph of a Bill fixing the boundaries of certain counties.  The next Legislature restored the name of Norton. More information about the history of Norton County will be added here soon.


Airport: For information about the Norton Municipal Airport, click here.

Northwest Kansas Travel Council: Northwest Kansas Travel Council, Inc. is comprised of businesses, attractions, chambers, economic development organizations, and museums. We are a non-profit organization formed to serve, support, and promote tourism.

Our region includes the 18 counties of northwest Kansas stretching from the Colorado border, to Russell, Osborne, and Smith Counties on the east, and the Nebraska border to I-70 with the inclusion of Wallace County.

The purpose of the Northwest Kansas Travel Council is:

  • To attract additional travelers to visit more communities and attractions in northwest Kansas.
  • To provide local leadership opportunities for developing and carrying out a plan for the orderly and effective promotion of tourism and recreation.
  • To encourage cooperative efforts in marketing our communities and attractions, thereby improving the economic opportunities of the people in northwest Kansas.

Additionally, as a regional organization, we encourage and support those individuals and communities making a difference in the travel industry by planning, promoting and expanding tourism opportunities within our region.

Please visit our website for more information about events, activities, and opportunities in northwest Kansas: